MEPRA Awards 2020 Has Opened Its Call for Entries
Posted on 2020 Aug,05

MEPRA has announced the call for entries for its 2020 Awards edition. The MEPRA Awards has a made its mission "to recognise and celebrate the brightest, boldest and bravest campaigns and practitioners in Middle East PR." This year, the 12th edition, marks the largest Awards with 54 categories, including a special focus on the most notable work produced in response to COVID-19.

MEPRA is providing a 50% discount on award entries to help ensure all professionals can participate following COVID-19 impacts. The awards are open to all Middle East-based agencies, corporates, government organisations and non-profits working in the communications profession. Winners will be announced on 9th December 2020.  A decision on whether to hold a physical or virtual Awards Ceremony will be taken closer to the time and guided by COVID-19 safety measures imposed by the UAE government.

Entries can be submitted for best campaigns in geographic markets across the Middle East; technical skills, such as video or creative work; industry sectors including healthcare, government and travel; people and teams; plus a special focus on COVID-19 responses including:
–        Best Internal Communications Response During COVID-19
–        Best Social Impact Campaign in Response to COVID-19
–        Best COVID-19 Crisis Management
–        Best Creative Approach During COVID-19

MEPRA Vice Chair and Head of the MEPRA Awards Committee, Lisa Welsh said: “It’s been a challenging year. We’ve listened to the industry who feel that, more than ever, they want to celebrate the impactful work for their clients.

“Over the past four months, our industry has evolved further, with an even bigger shift towards digital engagement, internal and crisis communications. Whilst there has been disruption to many industry sectors, what has remained is the commitment and dedication to create world class communications campaigns that deliver real change. Through the 2020 MEPRA Awards, we want to provide a platform to celebrate the resilience of our industry and the critical role of communications at a time when it’s been needed the most.”

The deadline for awards submissions is Sunday 4 September 2020, with finalists to be announced by 9 November 2020. Entries will be assessed by a panel of more than 40 local and international industry experts, with an independent adjudicator set to review the judging process.